The Ugly Show

After a flurry of Snowies hanging out at Long Beach over Christmas, despite consecutive days of doing the death march down Long Beach before sunrise, with fellow friends AJ Hand and Jim Zipp, we failed to score any photo opps.

CAM01153We did find one bird at Milford Point, or at least we thought we did did until we saw this sign on the Visitor Center window..

CAM01154When I returned home I found out one bird, that had been frequenting the harbor near my house, had showed up again briefly. But, when I arrived at the spot there was no owl to be found. Grabbing some breakfast before I went over to check the War Memorial at the bottom of my street, I got a post from John Oshlic  saying he had the bird actually perched on top of the war memorial. “Err, Nick, I’ll have those eggs and home fries to go…NOW!”

Two shakes of a lamb’s tail later and breaking the speed limit,  I had clocked the little beauty from the exit ramp as I got off the highway..cool! Turns out, it was an ugly little bugger!!

CAM01161

Long Wharf, New Haven, CT…right by the house. I even got it on my “birds I’ve seen while running” list later on that day, sat out on the mud flats.Tick!

_MG_5694

Breakfast!

Breakfast! You can see the bird on top of the memorial!

The bird’s right eye seemed to be injured but it was hard to determine if the stain was old blood or from something else.

_MG_5708With birds starving and emaciated, it is no wonder some of these poor birds don’t seem to be doing well! Hope this guy is finding food!

"Ashy-face" - the bird at Milford looked as though it had been dragged through a hedge backwards and was later seen at Long Beach with an apparent broken/injured leg. :(

“Ashy-face” – the bird at Milford looked as though it had been dragged through a hedge backwards and was later seen at Long Beach with an apparent broken/injured leg. 😦

Leave a Reply

