Hendrix – before and after

No sooner had I arrived at daycare to pick up Alex,  he ran up to me, beaming and proudly thrust his drawing he had done into my hands.  Encouragingly, I said “Awesome”, but realized as someone of an artistic background (i.e. someone who used to draw) that I was obviously failing my offspring in the drawing department.

Before Lesson

One night when we got home, I said “Hey, why don’t we do some drawing?” He said he liked to draw planes and I said “We can do that!”. So, sketch pad and biro in hand, on the spur of the moment we started off with simple shapes e.g. a circle and figured he could follow my lead. He’s four, so even holding the pen at this point takes some dexterity. However, within an hour I was amazed at what he threw down on the paper!!!!!

"Daddy..this drawing thing is easy...I bet you could do it too. Who's Jimi Hendrix.. is he in the Wiggles?"

After Lesson

There’s hope yet! Now, if I can only get him to pick up a pair of binoculars!

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Hendrix – before and after”

  1. Jodi Says:

    my nephew is brilliant!

  2. julianhough Says:

    cheers….I hope he is creative…I wish I had more time to ‘scribble’.

Leave a Reply

